Minister of Council has passed a resolution to remove three armed groups from a terror list.

The decision was as part of sweeping reforms under a new prime minister, its officials said. The groups, operating mainly from neighboring Eritrea, had opposed the government that ruled Ethiopia for close to three decades.

The resolution delisting the Ogaden National Liberation Front, the Oromo Liberation Front and Ginbot 7 now goes to Parliament, the prime minister’s chief of staff, Fitsum Arega, said.

He said it “will encourage groups to use peaceful political discourse to achieve political ends.” Al-Qaeda and al-Shabaab remain on the terror list.

The cabinet also approved a law to be sent to Parliament that grants amnesty for individuals and groups either under investigation or convicted for treason, crime against the constitutional order and armed struggle. (Daily Monitor)